My Wishlist

or enquire by email

Maxwell Place

From $310 NZD per night (2 Night Min)

  • Sleeps 8
  • 3 bedrooms
  • 2.5 bathrooms

MAXWELL PLACE PROPERTY SUMMARY:
Alpine charm, stylish finishes and panoramic vistas collide at Maxwell Place – a real Queenstown gem. Reminiscent of a mountain chalet, the home is sun drenched and well-appointed to exploit the jaw dropping views of Lake Wakatipu and the neighbouring mountains.

ACCOMMODATION DETAILS:
Maxwell Place is the kind of vacation rental where holiday memories are made. The property’s almost rustic feel is at one with Queenstown’s adventurous spirit, while modern amenities provide the ease of holiday living. A wood finish gives Maxwell Place tonnes of warmth and character, while strategically placed windows bring in maximum light. You will enjoy taking in the view whether you’re dining, bathing or lying in bed.

An open plan kitchen and living area are situated on the first floor, framed by a wrap-around balcony with sliding door access. The décor is best described as character-packed yet contemporary, with exposed beams and a roaring fireplace.

Extensive decking around the holiday home adds to the indoor-outdoor flow and helps bring nature indoors. Upstairs, the wooden beamed attic room is an ideal haven for children or additional guests, including bean bags, a TV and DVD player. The carport makes parking easy and convenient.

BEDROOMS AND BATHROOMS:
Maxwell Place is equipped with 2.5 bathrooms and 3 bedrooms. One of the home’s major perks is its flexible configuration, including a bunkroom attic:
Master Bedroom: 1 Queen
Bedroom 2: 1 Queen
Bedroom 3: 2 King Singles plus 2 Singles

ADDITIONAL FEATURES:
- Unlimited WIFI
- Wood stove
- Wood burner
- Electric blankets
- Firewood supplied

LOCATION:
Tucked in the hillside on lower Queenstown Hill moments from downtown, this area is renowned for its panoramic views around Lake Wakatipu, over to Kelvin Heights and the Remarkables. Maxwell Place is magnificently placed to take in the vistas.

RATES:
- Rates are a guide only & subject to change
- Special events and Christmas/New Year’s tariff subject to increased nightly rates and minimum stay
- Additional fees include pre-arrival inspection, house linens, towels and standard departure clean
- Please note that stays of 7+ nights may require mid-stay clean/linen change where additional charges may apply
- Prices are for up to 8 people. Additional beds & linen maybe available upon request – ask reservations
- Minimum age requirement 25 years or older for the leading group member (photo ID required)
- Bond $500

A copy of the guest’s photo ID (Drivers’ Licence and/or Passport) is required upon finalising of the booking.

PRIVACY ACT:
The information requested from the guest is to enable Goodstays Ltd to assess the guest’s request to rent the property. The guest does not have to supply this information, but if the guest does not, then Goodstays is unable to rent the property out. The guest acknowledges that Goodstays will collect, hold and use the guest’s personal information for purposes related to the renting of the property and the provision of related customer services, including direct marketing and assessing customer satisfaction with products and services provided by Goodstays. The guest further acknowledges that such personal information may be disclosed to debt collection agencies, insurance companies and/or law enforcement agencies in the possible event of non-payment, damage or theft to the property; and the guest hereby authorises the disclosure of their personal information for such purposes.

Availability

Quick Quote

51 Reviews

Stayed 5 days ending 17 Jul 2020

  • (3/5) Property condition
  • (4/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

We paid an average price per night for an average rental
Bathrooms need updating, shower head holder in back b’room needs replacing.
Dishwasher cutlery holder needs replacing
Beds very comfortable and linen good.
Plenty of heaters/ and fire to make house cosy in the -5 deg temps we experienced.

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Hi Marilyn, thanks for your review. As the photos show, this property is an older-style bach and this is reflected in the bathrooms and fixtures throughout the home. We will follow up with the owner and our Guest Services team regarding your feedback. We wish you safe travels to your next destination! Kind regards, the Goodstays Team.

Stayed 5 days ending 09 Jul 2020

  • (5/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

Great views. Great fireplace

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Thank you for your review, Heather. We hope we may host you again in the future! Kind regards, the Goodstays Team.

Stayed 3 days ending 27 Jun 2020

  • (5/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

A lovely warm clean home. Lots of room for the family. Nice & close to town. Just one small problem with neighbour parking in the carport.

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Thanks for your review, Jenny! We apologise for the neighbour parking in the carport, but are glad that our team were able to rectify this during your visit. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope we can host you again. Kind regards, the Goodstays Team.

Stayed 3 days ending 26 Feb 2020

  • (3/5) Property condition
  • (3/5) Location
  • (4/5) Cleanliness
  • (3/5) Services from rental manager

Once we arrived my first impression was the price we paid was too much for the property we got.
I like more modern homes and this one was a bit too tired for my liking. Only the master bedroom with the view of the lake was the only room with a lot of natural light. The other bedrooms were too dark.
The kitchen and lounge had natural light and great views but there was not indoor outdoor flow. The small balcony had only one dirty/stained outdoor chair.
I wouldn't rent this place again. Would recommend it if the rental price was cheaper to reflect the way the property is.

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Hi Luke, thanks for taking the time to submit your feedback. We are sorry that the property did not meet your expectations, however we believe the photography and rates accurately reflect the calibre of Maxwell Place. The nightly rental amount you paid is in line with other 3 bedroom homes of similar style, located less than 2km from Queenstown's CBD. Should you return to Queenstown, our reservations team are available to assist you in booking a property that meets both your budget constraints and expectations. We hope you enjoyed your time here! Warm regards, the Goodstays team.

Thoughts from Linda C. (Greymouth , New Zealand)

Stayed 5 days ending 21 Jan 2020

  • (5/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (4/5) Services from rental manager

We love Maxwell place great house great location .Only reason we will not be able to return next year is the minimum stay of 5 nights . We can do 4 but 5 is just to much. Very sad as our friends stay in Maxwell place as well.we would recommend if they wanted 5 days or more but not many of our friends would need that most of us go for a long weekend 4 days max

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Thanks for your feedback, the 5 night minimum is our owner's requirement however we will discuss this with them so please do check back with us next time you want to visit Queenstown. Warm regards, the team at Goodstays.

Thoughts from Jessca Britton (Palm Beach, Australia)

Stayed 6 days ending 12 Jul 2019

Beautiful House with stunning views. House was well equipped from the coffee maker through to board games for the kids. Very clean and well heated on our arrival. We had a fabulous stay and would recommend Good Stays to all :)

Goodstays replied…

Thanks so much for your valuable feedback, Jessica! Maxwell Place is a charming holiday home and we have to agree about those views, they really have to be seen to be believed. Next time you and your family are in need of a relaxing mountain getaway be sure to give us a call and we would be delighted to assist you in finding accommodation in either Queenstown or over the hill in Wanaka. Kind Regards, Caitlin-Goodstays.

Thoughts from Robert B. (Sorrento, Australia)

Stayed 14 days ending 08 Mar 2019

  • (5/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

The property was a home away from home and exceeded our expectations. The views were magnificent and only a short walk from the city centre where we found many lovely restaurant's. The property was as advertised, clean and relaxing.

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Thank you for choosing to book with us here at Goodstays and for taking the time to leave us a lovely review, Robert. Maxwell place is such a character packed property that truly encapsulates an alpine getaway, not to mention those panoramic views! We hope that next time you're in need of another relaxing mountain retreat, you give us a shout and we would love to help you find further accommodation in either Queenstown, or across the hill in idyllic Wanaka. All the best, Caitlin-Goodstays.

Thoughts from John and Bev Delaney (Wollongong, Australia)

Stayed 5 days ending 22 Feb 2019

We found the whole process well organised and efficient. The property was great roomy, clean and well equipped. The views were amazing one of the best views we’ve had. We had a fantastic 5 days. Would definitely recommend Goodstays and this property to everyone.

Goodstays replied…

Thank you for your kind words John and Bev! We really strive to make the guest experience as effortless and enjoyable as possible from booking right through to departure,so it is lovely to hear that this was the case with your stay. Maxwell place is a real gem, packed full of character and offering panoramic views, we're so proud to have this home as one of our properties. Please feel free to reach out to us next time you're in need of a mountain retreat in either Queenstown or Wanaka and it would be our pleasure to assist you in a future booking. Best Wishes, Goodstays.

Stayed 4 days ending 22 Oct 2018

  • (5/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (4/5) Services from rental manager

Maxwell Place was perfect for our group of 7, away for a girls weekend. There is loads of space, plenty of beds and the views are amazing. It was clean and tidy. The location is perfect, we had a rental car and no issues with car parking, or you can easily walk into town. We had a great stay and would definitely come back if ever in Queenstown again.

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

What a stunning spot for a girls weekend Kerri! We have to agree that this is a second to none property and are so glad you and your friends got to experience the very best that Queenstown has to offer. It would be our pleasure to host you again at Goodstays in the future.

Thoughts from Caroline S. (Auckland, New Zealand)

Stayed 4 days ending 29 Aug 2018

  • (4/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (4/5) Services from rental manager

The house was very comfortable and well presented. The parking was awkward especially for a large vehicle. The company was professional and we did not need to contact them during the stay. I found the constant messages on the Homestays app intrusive. I would prefer to also have written instructions left in the house.

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Hello Caroline, thank you for your review and great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Maxwell Place. We look forward to hearing from you next time you choose to visit Wanaka or Queenstown. Warm Regards, The Goodstays Team

Thoughts from Bertrand J. (Lanta, France)

Stayed 5 days ending 09 Aug 2018

  • (5/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

Very good property location with a very good emplacement

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Hello Bertrand, thank you for your review and great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Maxwell Place. Your positive feedback is much appreciated! Look forward to hearing from you next time you choose to visit Wanaka or Queenstown. Regards, Goodstays.

Stayed 7 days ending 12 Jun 2018

  • (5/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

Perfact and nice view without any interfearance
Cozy and warm. We stayed second time here and its plesire to stay on this house.

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Hi Ankit, Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed the property for the second time and we look forward to having you stay a 3rd :-) We look forward to hearing from you next time you plan a trip to Queenstown or Wanaka. Safe travels, Goodstays

Thoughts from Andrea A. (Cedar Vale, Australia)

Stayed 4 days ending 11 Apr 2018

  • (5/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

Was very happy with our stay at Maxwell Place. Gorgeous little house, great location as it was close to everything. Awesome mountain and lake views. The house is cosy, very comfortable and clean. Hassel free transaction with property management. Very cool place to stay.

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Hi Andrea, thank you for your review and great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Maxwell Place. Very pleasing to hear your positive feedback. Safe travels and we look forward to hearing from you next time you choose to visit Wanaka or Queenstown. Regards, Goodstays.

Stayed 3 days ending 04 Apr 2018

  • (4/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (4/5) Services from rental manager

Had a wonderful stay.

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Dear Saranya, Thank you for your review and great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Maxwell Place. We look forward to hearing from you next time you plan a visit to either Queenstown or Wanaka. Warm Regards, Goodstays

Stayed 3 days ending 05 Mar 2018

  • (3/5) Property condition
  • (3/5) Location
  • (2/5) Cleanliness
  • (3/5) Services from rental manager

Great views at this property but very disappointed to discover there was an owners flat below the living area. This wasn't mentioned in the property description. Kitchen very small and not enough seating for everyone. The extra charges for exit clean $240 and linen $204 are excessive - the house wasn't particularly clean either.

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Firstly I would like to thank you for choosing to book with us here at Goodstays and for taking the time to leave us some feedback. In regards to the owners staying below the living area- I'm unsure as to what you are referring, as the owners do not live on site and the property is managed solely by us as a holiday home. I am sorry to hear that you found the cleaning fees to be excessive, here at Goodstays we pay our housekeeping team a living wage and thoroughly clean each property prior to arrival and following each departure, additionally we have our linen professionally laundered to ensure a comfortable stay for each guest. Had you let us know the home was anything less than pristine, we would have been more than happy to send our housekeeping team back to the property to remedy this. I hope you enjoyed your time in magical Queenstown and wish you all the best, Caitlin-Goodstays.

Stayed 5 days ending 01 Mar 2018

  • (5/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

very clean and nice place in a good location close to town and with views of the lake.

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Dear Christopher, Thank you for your review and great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Maxwell Place. We look forward to hearing from you next time you plan a visit to either Queenstown or Wanaka. Warm Regards, Goodstays

Thoughts from Yew Kit (Kajang, Malaysia)

Stayed 4 days ending 17 Feb 2018

  • (5/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

It was a great house, very homely for my family, lots of room and space. The amenities provided is also very good, the linen provided has the feel of a luxury hotel. The only not so good part is that the master bathroom does not have a proper door for the shower area, so the water may wet the floor in the bathroom. But otherwise everything is so good, and the view is really something that is out of the world, exactly what we have expected it to be! And also not to mention the well-equipped kitchen and with a top of the line dish washer.

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Thankyou for your lovely words, Yew. Maxwell Place is a charming alpine home and i'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your time at this special property. I would also like to thank you for your feedback on the shower door, I am more than happy to pass on this feedback to the owners and our guest services team. Please don't hesitate to be in touch next time you're in need of a relaxing getaway in Wanaka or after a trip over the hill to Queenstown, as we would be delighted to help you find further accommodation. Best Wishes, Caitlin-Goodstays.

Stayed 5 days ending 27 Oct 2017

  • (3/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

House was Fantastic and in Good Location with Inspiring View of Panoramic Skyline of Queenstown hills and surrounding

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Dear Ankit, Thank you for your review and great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Maxwell. We look forward to hearing from you next time you plan a visit to either Queenstown or Wanaka. Warm Regards, Goodstays

Stayed 6 days ending 16 Oct 2017

  • (4/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (4/5) Cleanliness
  • (4/5) Services from rental manager

Great amenities, superb views, close to town. We shared the house with our extended family while attending a family wedding - perfect

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Dear Sonia, Thank you for your review and great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Maxwell Place. We look forward to hearing from you next time you plan a visit to either Queenstown or Wanaka. Warm Regards, Goodstays

Thoughts from Owen D. (Cabarlah, Australia)

Stayed 7 days ending 20 Aug 2017

  • (4/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (4/5) Services from rental manager

A very relaxed & homely holiday home with great views in a quiet location. Loved the fireplace & the room full of wood.

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Dear Owen, Thank you for your review and great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Maxwell Place. We look forward to hearing from you next time you plan a visit to either Queenstown or Wanaka. Warm Regards, Goodstays

Thoughts from Ann H. (Vista, United States)

Stayed 5 days ending 12 Jun 2017

  • (5/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

We stayed almost a week in this great home. Incredible views that went on and on. I could have stayed in a chair (or bed) and just looked out the window the whole time we were here, but seriously, it's Queenstown, there is way too much to do! The house was cosy and cabin like, very comfortable, we felt right at home. The beds were very comfortable, the heating excellent, the hot water perfect, and of course the view is amazing. The instructions to get in and check out were very easy. Washer and dryer was a huge bonus for weary (and dirty) travelers and explorers. Can't recommend this home enough, I'd return in a heartbeat.

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Dear Ann, Thank you for your review and great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Maxwell Place. Our number one priority is guest satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that this is what you experienced! We look forward to hearing from you next time you plan a visit to either Queenstown or Wanaka. Warm Regards, Goodstays”

Stayed 7 days ending 01 Mar 2017

  • (4/5) Property condition
  • (4/5) Location
  • (4/5) Cleanliness
  • (4/5) Services from rental manager

Stayed for 1 week to attend family wedding. Easy check in/out. No requirement to attend rental office. Key in drop box upon arrival/departure. Very clean, comfortable and cosy with absolutely BEAUTIFUL VIEWS. Well suited to whole family. Grandparents had own ensuite, separate room for parents and teen boys upstairs loft. Everything we needed. Cosy fire, handy 3rd toilet. Close to airport and town. Would happily recommend and would stay again.

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Dear Jo and Don, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy you enjoyed your time in Queenstown and the property is well suited for your family. We hope to have you back in the future. Kind regards, Hayley

Thoughts from Owen D. (Cabarlah, Australia)

Stayed 5 days ending 03 Oct 2016

  • (4/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (4/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

This property was perfect for our stay. The view was stunning and amazing to wake up to every morning. Holidaying with our son, his wife and two young children ages 5 and 7 the house provided two queen size beds with each room having its own bathroom. The children were excited about sleeping up on the third floor and the extra toilet was very handy also. Very warm home with plenty of heating options available - at no time were we cold - and everything you would want for comfort was supplied. Very handy to town - we did have a rental car. The children were delighted to be able to help light the fire every evening - they live in a very warm climate - plenty of wood supplied. Staying in such a great home made our stay most enjoyable. Would highly recommend to other families. Hope to be able to stay here at some time again in the future.

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Dear Owen, Thank you for a fantastic review, Maxwell Place sounds like it was the ideal property for your family! We hope to welcome you all back again one day soon. Best regards, Goodstays

Thoughts from David N. (Speers Point, Australia)

Stayed 7 days ending 17 Sep 2016

  • (4/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

I rented this property in Maxwell Place to house the family who had gathered for a Queenstown wedding. Facilities were great, beds were comfortable, water was hot and strong and the view downright stunning!!

The property is very clean and was quite capable of supporting our team of eight. Town is but a short walk away and the carport can accommodate a (small) car!

We liked it that much that the team wants to make it an annual thing!!

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Dear David, Thank you for suchj a fantastic review! Its great to hear that Maxwell Place catered exactly for your groups needs and that everyone had a wonderful time! We will look forward to hearing from you for your return trip! Best regards, Goodstays

Thoughts from Jodi S. (Aongatete, New Zealand)

Stayed 3 days ending 04 Sep 2016

  • (5/5) Property condition
  • (3/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

This is a beautiful home, it made us feel welcome and comfortable. I wished that we could stay longer at this property. You can tell a loving family own and look after this property which makes it that much more personal and beautiful.
The home is big with very spacious and comfortable rooms. The bathrooms are also very big and nice to use.
The views at this house are spectacular! However, I thought it was closer to the main centre of town which it is not. The views definitley make up for this down fall.

Thank you very much for the use of your beautiful home, we had a lovely stay.

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Dear Jodi, Thank you so much for taking the time to complete such a lovely review of Maxwell Place. This property certainly is a special one, with the fantastic views and the real alpine home feel it's a great option when visiting Queenstown. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future. Best regards, Goodstays

Thoughts from Sean M. (Dublin, Ireland)

Stayed 7 days ending 04 Apr 2016

  • (5/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

We had cause to to go to Geraldine for our sons wedding in Geraldine and with two young children with us our daughter said we should finish off in Queenstown.
We had a par,ty of six and so we decided to check out rental accomodation andd to be whatand Maxwell Place appeared to be what we required.
Having never rented on spec on internet I was was a bit apprehensive but what a supprise.
Maxwell Place is everything they sqy it is.The views and great and very large.Would highly recommend this house for a holiday.

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Dear Sean, thank you for your feedback and great to hear you enjoyed Maxwell Place. We look forward to hearing from you next time you plan a visit to Queenstown. Kind Regards, Goodstays

Stayed 4 days ending 21 Mar 2016

  • (3/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (3/5) Cleanliness
  • (4/5) Services from rental manager

Easy and pleasant stay. The windows are in desperate need of a clean. Especially because the view is what we pay for!

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Hi Holly, thanks for your feedback. The windows have since been professionally cleaned - we apologise for any impact this had on your stay. We hope you choose to stay with us again. Warm regards, the team at Goodstays.

Stayed 3 days ending 17 Mar 2016

  • (5/5) Property condition
  • (4/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

The house was superb, particularly the view. Very suitable for families or couples travelling together. Unsuitable for people with poor mobility as there are lots of stairs.

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Thank you for your review and kind words. We hope you choose to stay with us again. Warm regards, the team at Goodstays.

Stayed 5 days ending 29 Feb 2016

  • (3/5) Property condition
  • (3/5) Location
  • (3/5) Cleanliness
  • (3/5) Services from rental manager

The place is out date and needs some make over. Rugs and floor needs renewed and polished. Kitchen needs a big clean. Photos online over sold the quality. Rates not too bad and quite spacious.

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Hi Ella, thanks for your feedback. We will follow up with our guest services team with your concerns. Warm regards, the team at Goodstays.

Thoughts from seth t. (Whitefish, United States)

Stayed 6 days ending 21 Feb 2016

  • (4/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (4/5) Cleanliness
  • (4/5) Services from rental manager

Good location, great views, reasonably clean. A barbecue would have been nice. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope we may host you again in the future! Warm regards, The team at Goodstays.

Stayed 9 days ending 22 Jan 2016

  • (5/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

Brilliant house with plenty of space, good location and great views. The whole place was very tidy and well equipped. Nice kitchen, fire place, and plenty of space (we were 5 people but a stay with 8 would have been just fine). We will come back to this one!

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope we may host you again in the future! Warm regards, The team at Goodstays.

Thoughts from Colm K. (Mount Maunganui, New Zealand)

Stayed 4 days ending 11 Jan 2016

  • (5/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

Absolutely fantastic rental up high on the hills of Queenstown! You could just stay and look at the views for the whole time.. Very modern and comfy stay with every possible add ons.. books, games, dvds, gadgets etc.. Absolutely perfect for 6-8 people.. I will stay here every year.. Nice walk to town too and a little bit of excercise on way up as up on hill but i enjoyed it.. Cant say enough of how great our stay was..

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Thank you for your review and kind words. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed everything the property had to offer during your stay. We hope you choose to stay with us again. Warm regards, The team at Goodstays.

Thoughts from Kim T. (Mt.Beauty, Australia)

Stayed 6 days ending 29 Dec 2015

  • (4/5) Property condition
  • (4/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

We booked this property to use over Xmas. The home was perfect for our family gathering. It is an older building with amazing views over the lake. Having 2yr old twin grandchildren, we felt relaxed that they could not do any 'damage'. There was plenty of room for us to spread-out over the 3 floors, and the kitchen is well stocked with cooking utensils for easy self-catering! It is within walking distance to central town, although there are some hills to climb!! With the wonderful selection of restaurants in town, you will never go hungry. There is an open carport. We were a bit confused about the small availability of rubbish/recycling facilities. Otherwise I fully recommend this property for a comfortable, easy care holiday.

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope we may host you again in the future! Warm regards, The team at Goodstays.

Thoughts from Michael M. (Upper Coomeria, Australia)

Stayed 5 days ending 23 Dec 2015

  • (4/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (4/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

Great Location .. House has everything you need.. A bbq on the deck would be great to have

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope we may host you again in the future! Warm regards, The team at Goodstays.

Thoughts from Nick C. (Hawthorn East, Australia)

Stayed 4 days ending 08 Oct 2015

  • (5/5) Property condition
  • (4/5) Location
  • (4/5) Cleanliness
  • (4/5) Services from rental manager

We had three couples, including two with toddlers, and this house suited us perfectly. Plenty of space, good bathrooms, comfy living area, good location and awesome views. Highly recommended.

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope we may host you again in the future! Warm regards, the team at Goodstays.

Thoughts from Alana S. (Mermaid Beach, Australia)

Stayed 5 days ending 26 Sep 2015

  • (5/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

We had the most amazing time at maxwell place! The location was superb and the views were stunning! To wake up to views of the lake every morning was pure paradise!! The house itself had all the amenities you could ask for and whilst some of the furniture may seem dated it actually adds to homey feel :) to sit by the fire at night and play uno was truly memorable and filled our nights with laughter and memories! we would definitely stay here again and have already recommended it to our friends!

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Thank you for your review and kind words. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed everything the property had to offer during your stay. We hope you choose to stay with us again. Warm regards, the team at Goodstays.

Thoughts from Sarah C. (Auckland, New Zealand)

Stayed 6 days ending 30 Aug 2015

  • (3/5) Property condition
  • (3/5) Location
  • (4/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

Had a wonderful week in Queenstown staying here. The house is good for a group of around 6 or 7 adults as the 8th has to sleep on a rollaway bed and there really isnt seating for everyone to be comfortable in the lounge.. perhaps a few beanbags or another couch would be good to add? Very clean and towels/linen supplied which makes thing easy. Only issue with maintenance is that the upstairs deck leaks into the dining area and the ensuite shower leaks into the lounge - should probably be fixed soon due to mold forming. Also the heat pump filter could do with a clean it looks pretty blocked up. Apart from those things its a pleasant place to stay, approx 20 min walk (up/down stairs also) but the views are worth it :) Thanks for having us!

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Thank you for your feedback, Sarah. We have passed it on to our operations manager to follow up. We trust that you otherwise enjoyed your stay, and hope that you will give us the chance to remedy your experience and choose to stay with us again next time you are in Queenstown. Warm regards, the Team at Goodstays.

Thoughts from Zhou F. (Ashwood, Australia)

Stayed 8 days ending 23 Aug 2015

  • (5/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (4/5) Services from rental manager

Thanks for a great trip. Excellent accomodation. Very well supplied kitchen and firewood greatly appreciated for a cold week. Beautiful view.

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Dear Zhou, thank you for your feedback. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and glad you made good use of the fireplace during peak Winter in Queenstown. We look forward to hearing from you again soon.

Stayed 6 days ending 14 Aug 2015

  • (5/5) Property condition
  • (4/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

Very nice. Awesome views, great location, very relaxing and felt like home. I would defiantly stay here again and would suggest it to others.

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Dear Hayley, thank you for your feed back and glad you enjoyed your stay at Maxwell Place. We look forward to hearing from you next time you plan a stay in Queenstown!

Thoughts from Stacey W. (Currimundi, Australia)

Stayed 6 days ending 08 Aug 2015

  • (3/5) Property condition
  • (4/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

This place has an amazing view! You couldn't expect better. Although the place is getting a little old, it just adds character! The fireplace is definitely it's finest feature. It is situated a little out of town, but a $13NZD maxi cab is worth it.

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Dear Stacey, thank you for your feedback and great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Maxwell place. As popular as Maxwell Place is the owners are laying new carpet down as well updating a few other areas in the house to keep it well maintained going into Summer. Please contact us next time you plan a stay to beautiful Queenstown.

Stayed 5 days ending 10 Feb 2015

  • (4/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

The house is in a great spot with amazing views over the lakes and mountains and we enjoyed our stay here very much and would highly recommend it for a larger group or family. The number on letterbox does not match details given in description of property and the photos displayed on website are a little misleading. The carpet is quite heavily marked and one or two of the dining chairs are in need of repair (one cant be used at all) and some maintenance needs to be done on the property like weeding and general tidying up of woodwork on sills etc. None of this affects the stay at all it is just cosmetic. The only let down is the small parking space for larger groups as you have to park a second car further up the road from the property. Overall though our stay was lovely and I found Nick our property manager to be very helpful and we would happily stay here again.

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Dear Lee, thank you for your feedback and glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Queenstown! Our property manager has made a note of a few maintenance issues due to general wear and tear and will be fixed ASAP. We look forward to hearing from you next time you plan a visit to Queenstown!

Stayed 10 days ending 20 Jan 2015

  • (4/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

The house was perfect for our large family. It was extremely clean, beds were very comfortable and there was plenty of extra bedding and heating when it got chilly. The view from the dining area, lounge, main bedroom and ensuite was stunning. It is an easy 20 minute walk into the centre of Queenstown. The only slight negative was that there was a bit more wear and tear than we expected from the photos - carpet in the lounge was clean but very marked and a lot of the wood trim around doors and windows was water stained and looking a bit tired. But, if you're not picky about such things, I'd highly recommend the house.

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Hi Dixie, Thank you for your feedback and glad you enjoyed your stay at Maxwell Place. We look forward to hearing from you next time you wish to visit Queenstown!

Thoughts from Iris A. (North Shore, New Zealand)

Stayed 5 days ending 01 Jan 2015

  • (5/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (4/5) Services from rental manager

House location is very nice, we have an awesome view.

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Thanks for staying with us! We hope you enjoyed your time here. Warm regards, The team at Goodstays.

Stayed 3 days ending 13 Nov 2014

  • (5/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

Absolutely gorgeous views. Very comfortable, clean and relaxing. Only con was that we ran out of hot water for showers.

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. As Maxwell Place operated on a hot water cylinder, the hot water is not continuous and will require time between use to replenish. We hope we can host you again! Warm regards, the Team at Goodstays.

Stayed 8 days ending 06 Nov 2014

  • (4/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (4/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Maxwell Place this October for our family reunion. The house was perfect for us and suited both families needs plus the views were incredible.

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope we may host you again in the future! Warm regards, the Team at Goodstays.

Thoughts from Patricia F. (Northmead, Australia)

Stayed 8 days ending 29 Sep 2014

  • (4/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (4/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

What a beautiful holiday house with gorgeous views of the lake and mountains. We had a very comfortable stay here. We felt right at home.

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Thanks for staying with us! We hope you enjoyed your time here. Warm regards, The team at Goodstays.

Stayed 9 days ending 24 Aug 2014

  • (5/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

The perfect place to stay when looking for a warm, pretty holiday in Queenstown.

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope we may host you again in the future! Warm regards, Goodstays.

Stayed 5 days ending 14 Aug 2014

  • (4/5) Property condition
  • (4/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

As a family we wanted a house for rent in the queenstwon area and Maxwell place worked really well for us. It was clean and tidy and the bedrooms were spacious. The only downside was the distance into town - but we had a car so it didn't impact us. It is walkable - about 20 minutes one way.
The family room was a little small for 6 people - not enough couch space, however we were out a lot so it didn't matter.
Overall really enjoyable and would stay there again. Great value for money.

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope we may host you again in the future! Warm regards, Goodstays.

Stayed 5 days ending 07 Mar 2014

  • (4/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (4/5) Services from rental manager

The view is excellent and the house is well maintained. If a BBQ can be added to the balcony, that'll be perfect. The car port is a bit small for our 8-seat people mover. We're satisfied and really enjoy our stay.

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Thanks for staying with us! We hope you enjoyed your time here. Warm regards, The team at Goodstays.

Stayed 4 days ending 11 Feb 2014

  • (3/5) Property condition
  • (4/5) Location
  • (4/5) Cleanliness
  • (2/5) Services from rental manager

When we arrived late Fri night, the TV wasn't working. As per instructions in arrival info package, we were to call the emergency #if any appliances weren't working. We considered that TV fits under this category. The person who answered complained that it was 11:30pm and a non-working TV wasn't an emergency. He went on to say that this was a vacation home, not a hotel, therefore we could not expect a concierge service. I felt he was very rude to me. I was told to call the office on Mon. to arrange repair. So, I was expected to pass 3 out of the 4 days of my rental without a working TV (and the Olympics were on!!!). This same person called back on Mon. and arranged for a repair while we were out for the day. I felt that it should have been dealt with on the Sat. and he should have been more professional. This is making me reluctant to use Goodstays in the future. The outside of the place was unkempt and many cobwebs, so one didn't feel like using the outdoor spaces. The carpet in the apartment was torn through in several spots and needed replacement.

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Hi Janet - thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. We are sorry that this was your experience during your stay. Generally, we consider it an emergency when appliances such as the fridge are not working, appliances are sparking or have an electrical fault, or the washing machine is leaking. Regardless, the TV should have been repaired earlier and we will ensure that management follow up with the guest services team. We trust that you otherwise enjoyed your stay, and hope that you will give us the chance to remedy your experience and choose to stay with us again next time you are in Queenstown. Warm regards, the team at Goodstays.

Thoughts from Tania R. (Geraldton, Australia)

Stayed 5 days ending 26 Dec 2013

  • (5/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

We loved our time at Maxwell and would highly recommend it! Attention to every detail and all needs and more met! Thank you!!

NicholasCaselyParker

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope we may host you again in the future! Warm regards, the team at Goodstays.

Enquire