My Wishlist

or enquire by email

Glendhu Station Homestead

From $550 NZD per night (2 Night Min)

  • Sleeps 8
  • 4 bedrooms
  • 2 bathrooms

Where history, charm and majestic mountain vistas collide, Glendhu Station Homestead provides not only a stay, but an experience. Nestled on a private leafy plot, only a short scenic drive from the centre of Wanaka, the property is a rustic mountain oasis with room for the whole family.

More than just a property, Glendhu Station homestead is a historical landmark that has been thoughtfully adapted into a rustic yet refined space. The front lounge of the homestead was originally the post office and general store built in 1894. This served those working on the original Wanaka Station Run which at that time included, Alpha Burn Station, West Wanaka Station and what is now Glendhu Station. The homestead itself includes four bedrooms, a large bunk room and play area, two bathrooms, a formal dining and lounge, TV room and a large kitchen and informal dining.

The generous character-packed kitchen is every entertainer’s dream, with all the modern amenities one could need to whip up a gourmet meal. With two dining tables and two living areas to choose from, you are spoilt for choice on where to dine. On a cold night, snuggle up on the couch with a hot chocolate in front of one of two wood burning fires. And on a sunny day, lay in the bay window and bathe in the light with your favourite book.

One of the highlights of the homestead are the mature gardens, which have been well manicured into a lush green space, complete with a tennis court, offering a peaceful surround in which to retreat after an action-packed day. The living areas open up to a generous courtyard with a plethora of outdoor furniture and a BBQ, an idyllic spot to dine alfresco with your whole group.

This is also a great spot if you've come to Glendhu to ride some trails at the local bike park:

There is plenty of room for everyone, with four spacious bedrooms filled with old school charm and comfortable furnishings. The rich history of the property is evident in some of the vintage touches, such as the light fittings and etched glass windows.
Master bedroom: 1 King (Does Not Split)
Bedroom 2: 1 Queen
Bedroom 3: 1 Queen
Bedroom 4: 1 Queen

- Off-street parking
- Bathtub
- Espresso Maker
- Heated towel rails
- Double shower
- Cot room (available on request)
- 2 x living areas
- 2 x dining areas
- Tennis court
- Expansive gardens

Situated in Glendhu Bay, a small settlement on the shores of Lake Wanaka, the property provides a retreat from the hustle and bustle of the town centre, with the convenience of being mere a 15-minute drive away from world-class eateries and shopping. If hiking is your thing, you can be at the start of the legendary Roy’s Peak track within minutes. Or if you prefer mountain biking, the Glendhu Bay trail offers spectacular mountain and lake views.

- Rates are a guide only & subject to change
- Note special events and Christmas/New Year’s tariff subject to increased nightly rates and minimum stay
- Additional fees include pre-arrival inspection, house linens, towels and standard departure clean
- Please note that stays of 7+ nights may require mid-stay clean/linen change where additional charges may apply
- Prices are for up to 8 people. Additional beds & linen maybe available upon request – ask reservations
- Minimum age requirement 25 years or older for the leading group member (photo ID required)
- Bond $750

A copy of the guest’s photo ID (Drivers’ Licence and/or Passport) is required upon finalising of the booking.


Quick Quote

2 Reviews

Stayed 3 days ending 21 Sep 2020

  • (4/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

Originally booked with John at Glendhu Woolshed, the experience from first contact to us actually coming to the homestead was wonderful! When Goodstays took over, the transition was smooth, the communication was great, and the service on point!


Nick at Goodstays replied…

Thank you for your review, Karolyn! We are thrilled to see you were satisfied with both the accommodation and the service provided by Goodstays. We hope you choose to stay with us again. - The Goodstays Team

Stayed 2 days ending 07 Apr 2019

  • (4/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

The house was perfect for what we required as we stayed due to our daughters wedding been in the Woolshed. However a few things could be improved like having firewood ready to go in the bin and since its Autumn perhaps pre heating the house. There wasn't enough heaters in the house for every room therefore we were constantly juggling them around. We also had to go hunting for xtra toilet paper. Only a few things that I feel would make a difference otherwise we had an awesome stay and for us it was all about the location.