or enquire by email

Scaife Place Lodge

From $188 NZD per night (3 Night Min)

  • Sleeps 12
  • 6 bedrooms
  • 3 bathrooms

SCAIFE PLACE LODGE A SUMMARY:
A fantastic 6 bedroom home will accommodate even the largest family. The home adjoins the college playing field, so uninterrupted views of the mountains will always be assured.

KITCHEN AND LIVING AREAS:
There are separate living areas for the adults plus a downstairs area (one of the large bedrooms) which can accommodate a nanny and/or the kids for their games, unlimited WIFI and TV. Upstairs is an open plan area including the kitchen with all modern facilities, dishwasher, microwave etc which accesses the wrap around deck. The main living area has an open fire and a log burner and there is a large TV monitor, DVDs/VCRs supplied. Adjacent to the living area is the dining area that seats 12. Glorious views from the large deck which comes with a BBQ!

BEDROOMS:
Spread over two levels, the generous 6 bedroom home sleeps 12 people. The bedding configuration is as follows:

Master Bedroom: 1 Queen
Bedroom 2: 1 Queen
Bedroom 3: 2 Singles
Bedroom 4: 1 Queen
Bedroom 5: 1 Queen
Bedroom 6: 2 Singles

RATES:
• Rates are a guide only & subject to change
• *Note special events and Christmas/New Years tariff subject to increased nightly rates and minimum stay
• Additional fees include pre-arrival inspection, house linens, towels and standard departure clean
• Please note that stays of 7+ nights may require mid-stay clean/linen change where additional charges may apply
• Prices are for up to 12 people. Additional beds & linen maybe available upon request – ask reservations
• Minimum age requirement 25 years or older for the leading group member (photo ID required)
• Bond $500

A copy of the guest’s photo ID (Drivers’ Licence and/or Passport) is required upon finalising of the booking.

PRIVACY ACT
The information requested from the guest is to enable Goodstays Ltd to assess the guest’s request to rent the property. The guest does not have to supply this information, but if the guest does not, then Goodstays is unable to rent the property out. The guest acknowledges that Goodstays will collect, hold and use the guest’s personal information for purposes related to the renting of the property and the provision of related customer services, including direct marketing and assessing customer satisfaction with products and services provided by Goodstays. The guest further acknowledges that such personal information may be disclosed to debt collection agencies, insurance companies and/or law enforcement agencies in the possible event of non-payment, damage or theft to the property; and the guest hereby authorises the disclosure of their personal information for such purposes.

Amenities+

Availability

Quick Quote

16 Reviews

Stayed 3 days ending 15 Dec 2018

  • (4/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

We a wedding to attend and sought out suitable accommodation for 12 people. Goodstays came up with the goods with Scaife Place lodge. Six bedrooms and no bloody bunks. Ample parking large,living areas 3 bathrooms and an open fire for the chilly nights.

GoodstaysAccommodation Nick GeneralManager v3

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Thanks for the feedback Bruce. We're happy to hear you and your friends enjoyed your time at the beautiful Scaife Place Lodge and that is was able to accommodate you all so comfortably. We hope you had a great time at the wedding and would be more than happy to have you come and stay with us again soon. Warmest Regards, Goodstays

Thoughts from Nancy P. (Hoddles Creek, Australia)

Stayed 3 days ending 29 Oct 2018

  • (3/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (3/5) Cleanliness
  • (3/5) Services from rental manager

Fabulous place for gathering of friends. Sadly upkeep not great/ broken towel rail/upstairs bathroom fan melted/downstairs one scarily noisy/Electric blanket left on high/ BBQ dubious - to name a few things.We did love it but it is tired.

GoodstaysAccommodation Nick GeneralManager v3

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Hi Nancy, Thank you for your review and I am pleased to inform you that our guest services team have fixed the towel rail and replaced the other faulty items. Thank you for bringing that to our attention and a safe journey to your next destination. Kind Regards, Goodstays

Thoughts from June M. (Wanganui, New Zealand)

Stayed 7 days ending 14 Jul 2018

  • (5/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

A lovely week with our son and daughter and their families so 6 adults and 5 grandchildren from 6 to 12. We loved the central location, school playing fields right there, warm and cosy with log fires, plenty of hot water . The various spaces meant that there was room for everyone to spread out and not annoy each other.

GoodstaysAccommodation Nick GeneralManager v3

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Hi June, thank you for your review and great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Scaife Place Lodge. It really is a great property for large groups. Safe travels and we look forward to hearing from you next time you choose to visit Wanaka or Queenstown. Best regards, Goodstays.

Stayed 4 days ending 15 Mar 2018

  • (2/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (3/5) Cleanliness
  • (1/5) Services from rental manager

Our holiday started off not good, with Goodstays going to cancel our booking if I didn't pay the remaining amount within the same day with no reminder.... I had no access to the savings account as it neede 2 signage's and my husband was out of town. I didn't have access to credit as I don't use credit... I eventually had to borrow the remaining 2300 from my children until next day when I could refund back... The lady I dealt with was very abrupt and rude.

GoodstaysAccommodation Nick GeneralManager v3

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Hello Rachel, I am sorry to hear that this was your experience with us, we have a great Customer Service team and to hear that you found them anything other than warm and helpful is surprising to hear. In regards to payment, with short notice bookings we require the full amount to be paid upon reservation in order to confirm your booking. This is due to the fact that we are unable to hold a property without payment, and as per our agreement with the owners we are obliged to receive full payment prior to the guest's arrival. We hope that you enjoyed your stay at this lovely property and in beautiful Wanaka and wish you all the best for the future. Best Wishes, Goodstays.

Stayed 3 days ending 11 Mar 2018

  • (5/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

We were three families staying together. This house was perfect to accomodate the 12 of us. The children loved being able to play on the school field and playground, so much space for them to run around. The house has plenty of space and bathrooms, we didn’t feel on top of each other. The house has everything you could possibly need, very well equipped.

GoodstaysAccommodation Nick GeneralManager v3

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Dear Julia, Thank you for your review and great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Scaife Place Lodge. We look forward to hearing from you next time you plan a visit to either Queenstown or Wanaka. Warm Regards, Goodstays

Stayed 2 days ending 21 Jan 2018

  • (4/5) Property condition
  • (4/5) Location
  • (4/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

We did not get to enjoy this spacious house much as we only spent the nights here. It is a very nice and massive house and we all had our own space. Kids loved it. We just hope we had more time here to actually enjoy the house. The only problem was it was too hot and when we opened the windows and doors, bugs came in, so maybe screening windows and doors would help.

GoodstaysAccommodation Nick GeneralManager v3

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Dear Shereen, Thank you for your review and great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Scaife Place Lodge. We look forward to hearing from you next time you plan a visit to either Queenstown or Wanaka. Warm Regards, Goodstays

Stayed 7 days ending 03 Jan 2018

  • (4/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

Great house for our family to stay in for a week. Truly a home away from home for us. Loved the (what we think was) new carpet(!), the variety of spaces catering for our 3 generations, plus access to the college field for playing. Thanks for the BBQ which we enjoyed using, the books and gamues for the children, and fan for cooling ourselves during superb hot Wanaka weather! Sadly we couldn't locate the recycling bins - hopefully someone can sort this for future renters going forward. What would make this wonderful family-focused property even more fab would be a few more outdoor chairs on the deck

GoodstaysAccommodation Nick GeneralManager v3

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Hi Gabrielle, thank you for your feedback and very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Scaife Place Lodge. You are correct - brand new carpet! It is divine :-) We look forward to hearing from you next time you choose to stay in Wanaka or Queenstown. Regards, Goodstays.

Stayed 7 days ending 27 Dec 2017

  • (4/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

This was the perfect house for a large family with plenty of space and good sized rooms that we didn't feel like we were living on top of on another for a week. Plenty of plates and bowls etc to accommodate all the people.

GoodstaysAccommodation Nick GeneralManager v3

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Hi Gemma, thank you for your feedback and very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Scaife Place Lodge. It really is a spacious well equipped home! We look forward to hearing from you next time you choose to stay in Wanaka or Queenstown. Regards, Goodstays.

Stayed 7 days ending 16 Jul 2017

  • (4/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

This is a comfortable house that has space for everyone. Two roaring fires and heaters in all of the bedrooms. Kitchen was well equipped and beds were comfortable. Not modern, but clean and in good working order. Good stays were fantastic to deal with and attended to anything we needed straight away. Its a 10 min walk downhill to town through a forest. We had a lovely time.

GoodstaysAccommodation Nick GeneralManager v3

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Dear Chrissie, Thank you for your review and great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Scaife Place Lodge. We look forward to hearing from you next time you plan a visit to either Queenstown or Wanaka. Warm Regards, Goodstays

Stayed 7 days ending 08 Jul 2017

  • (4/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

A large house with warm living areas which suits a large family or group. Had everything we needed and plenty of wood for the fires. Spacious kitchen and living areas, 3bathrooms, storage for our skis and bikes in the garage. All bedrooms are spacious also. Lovely mountain views and an outlook over Mount Aspiring College grounds. Town was an easy 10 minute walk away through a park or an easy bike ride and walks, bike rides around the lake also very accessible. A good place for young children too.

GoodstaysAccommodation Nick GeneralManager v3

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Dear Marjorie, Thank you for taking the time to review Scaife Place Lodge. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you managed to enjoy all the thrills of Wanaka! We look forward to hearing from you next time you plan a visit to either Queenstown or Wanaka. Warm Regards, Goodstays

Thoughts from Jill R. (Mosgiel, New Zealand)

Stayed 3 days ending 25 Apr 2017

  • (1/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (2/5) Cleanliness
  • (2/5) Services from rental manager

I rented 14 Scaife Place for guests coming to my son's wedding - only because we own the house beside it! Before our friends arrived I opened up the house- and was very disappointed to see the fires had not been cleaned out, the windows had not been cleaned for months, and a mat by the sliding door had a big hole in it. (I put this into a wardrobe as I found a smaller but tidier mat in the downstairs bedroom to replace it). I also swept dirt & leaves from the front door and put extra toilet paper into each toilet as there was none. The living room furniture is very worn, and chairs on the deck only fit for the dump. Our friends who slept in the house said the bedding consisted of horrible polyester sheets and duvets - I had enquired about supplying our own bedding but was told there was a set price regardless of how many people stayed, and Goodstays sub contracted the sheets etc, so I would have to pay regardless. My sister could not sleep in the bedding supplied & replaced hers from our house. Most of the mix of crockery was chipped, and the cutlery needed to be washed before it could be used. The hot water pressure was so poor only one person could shower at a time, & needed to check no one else turned on a tap!! Overall a very disappointing rental for the very big price.

GoodstaysAccommodation Nick GeneralManager v3

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Hello Jill, Firstly congratulations on your son's recent wedding! I am sorry to hear you found the home to be unsatisfactory- Scaife Place Lodge is a lovely holiday home and I'm surprised to hear you did not enjoy your time here. In regards to the linen, we do not allow guests to provide their own linen as this is a health and safety issue, all of our sheets are high quality and professionally laundered after each guest departure. In regards to the other issues mentioned, had you given us a call which you were in house we would have been more than happy to send someone from our friendly guest services team over to take a look. I hope you and your family had a lovely time at your son's wedding and I wish you all the best. Caitlin-Goodstays.

Stayed 3 days ending 06 Mar 2017

  • (4/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (4/5) Cleanliness
  • (2/5) Services from rental manager

This is a fabulous house - large, lots of space, 6 decent sized bedrooms, comfy beds, nice big kitchen and living areas, backyard opens onto a field from the high school. But there were a lot of small things that let this property down, and ended up putting a dampener on our holiday. One roll of toilet paper per toilet, no tea provided, no QLDC rubbish bag provided, no recycle bin to be found anywhere, only two sachets of dishwashing powder (for a 3 day stay), only two sachets of washing powder for a front loader when the washing machine was a top loader. Décor was a bit tired, very disappointed that there was no SKY (despite it being advertised for this property on other rental company's websites, which I referred to because the Goodstays website never seemed to work when I tried to access it. Plus there were instructions on how to use Sky in the house) and no wireless internet. We paid nearly $600 a night in the non-peak season to stay in this house - all of those small touches added up to mean this house was not value for money. Also concerning is the $500 bond - I have stayed at at least 10 houses in Wanaka and never come across this before. How can there be a bond when there is no report on the property stating what damage already exists before you stay? For instance, there was a crack in a window - how would we know that we weren't going to be charged for that even though it was there when we arrived? There needs to be a property inspection report if there is going to be a bond.

GoodstaysAccommodation Nick GeneralManager v3

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Hello Beth, thank you for choosing to book with us and for taking the time to leave us some valuable feedback. Here at Goodstays we operate self catering holiday homes for those who want to experience Queenstown or Wanaka like a local. While we do provide a few essentials such as dishwashing liquid, several rubbish bags and toilet rolls, everything outside of this needs to be provided by the guest themselves. Having said this, each property usually have some extra items left by previous guests which you are more than welcome to use. I apologise for the miscommunication regarding SKY Tv, this was an oversight on our behalf and has since been rectified. While we strongly encourage all of our owners to install WIFI, a small number have decided not to install internet at their property. For these properties, Goodstays provides modems for purchase at an additional cost, this is done for guest convenience and the cost is reflective of the price of portable modems and the additional visit to the property by our Guest Services team to set this up. In terms of the security bond, each property undergoes a departure inspection following a guest's checkout and photos of any damage are taken- these are simply not shared with the guest unless there is any damage done during their stay. I hope you had an enjoyable time in magical Wanaka and I wish you all the best for your future travel. Kind Regards, Caitlin-Goodstays.

Thoughts from Andrew M. (Howden, Australia)

Stayed 5 days ending 06 Feb 2017

  • (4/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

an older house now showing signs of wear but clean and tidy well suited for a large group as bedrooms well spaced and enough room to move NOT cramped

GoodstaysAccommodation Nick GeneralManager v3

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Hi Andrew, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are pleased the house was spacious enough for your family and you did not feel cramped! We hope to have you back in the future. Kind regards, Hayley

Thoughts from Spencer T. (Park City, United States)

Stayed 15 days ending 24 Oct 2016

  • (3/5) Property condition
  • (4/5) Location
  • (3/5) Cleanliness
  • (4/5) Services from rental manager

The house was great for my group of teenagers that were in Wanaka for a snowboarding camp at Cardrona. The Big living room, deck, kitchen and ball field out the back gate were all amazing for us. comfortable for a group of 8 and we had a great time.

Thank You

Spencer Tamblyn
US Snowboarding

GoodstaysAccommodation Nick GeneralManager v3

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Dear Spencer, Great to hear everyone enjoyed staying at Scaife Place Lodge, it certainly has plenty of room both inside and out to keep a group of teenagers busy! Best Regards, Goodstays

Thoughts from Mauro N. (South Street, China)

Stayed 21 days ending 25 Sep 2016

  • (4/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (5/5) Cleanliness
  • (5/5) Services from rental manager

Everything was perfect, not much else to say.

GoodstaysAccommodation Nick GeneralManager v3

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Dear Mauro, Wonderful to hear your stay was perfect! We look forward to welcoming you back to Wanaka again in the future! Best regards, Goodstays

Stayed 4 days ending 21 Aug 2016

  • (3/5) Property condition
  • (5/5) Location
  • (3/5) Cleanliness
  • (2/5) Services from rental manager

The house was described as large and great for a group of guests and this certainly lived up to our expectations. Each room had clean sheets although there was no duvet cover, only a sheet that covered the duvet on the bed. These duvets weren't overly clean and were extemely thin, not appropriate for the time of year that we stayed. Excellent facilities in the kitchen, great lounge and dining area. Fabulous fire in this area that kept us toasty and warm at night. Large sized garage, too tight to fit in our vehicles but perfect for ski storage. The floor in the garage is very slippery. The owners are very lucky to have a wonderful property very close and central to Wanaka with a great outlook. Unfortunatey we felt that this property was overpriced for what it was.

GoodstaysAccommodation Nick GeneralManager v3

Nick at Goodstays replied…

Hello Suzie, thank you for booking with us here at Goodstays and leaving us some valuable feedback. I am glad to hear that you and your group enjoyed your time at this lovely home- it really is ideal for a large group or family. I am sorry to hear that you had issues with the duvets- had you given us a call while you were in house we would have been happy to have a member of our friendly guest services team come over to resolve this. In regards to pricing, I can assure you that our pricing is very much in line with rental cost in Wanaka during peak winter time, this is a seasonal town and the influx of tourists during this time unfortunately affects prices. We agree that the owners are very lucky with this property and will be sure to pass this onto them. Please don't hesitate to reach out in the future should you require further accommodation down Queenstown or Wanaka way. Wishing you safe onward travel, Caitlin-Goodstays.

Enquire